Molo, World!

Molwene to all my friends, family, sponsors, and other readers!

I have recently returned home from an adventure in southern Africa.  I was traveling with a program called International Student Volunteers, which is dedicated to sending groups of students to every corner of the world, giving them an educational and fun experience while they learn to give back.  My program in particular sent me to southern Africa.

We began in Cape Town, South Africa working with an organization called African Impact.  This branch of the organization worked in community development, especially in preschools in underdeveloped areas.  I did volunteer work here for two weeks then moved on to two weeks of adventure tourism.  We traveled from Johannesburg, South Africa through Swaziland and Mozambique and participated in activities ranging from spelunking to a classic African safari.

Going on this trip was the best decision I ever made.

I originally wanted to keep this blog while I was abroad, but I was informed that it would be fairly impossible to do so.  Which was true.  Instead, I kept a daily journal.  This blog will be my attempt at converting that journal into something people might want to read.  I will try to make at least one entry every day to keep this blog feeling genuine, so please check back as often as you like.

I would like to thank all of my sponsors for their time and their generous donations to this trip.  I would like to especially thank NMSU, Aggies Go Global, and Dr. Gary Lowe for the funding, help, and advice that I was provided.  To my friends and family, thank you so much for your support and encouragement.

Without all of these lovely people, this trip would not have been possible.

About jessinsafrica

Hi, my name is Jessica MacKinnon. I am driven to work to make the world a slightly better place. I was really excited to take that motivation to somewhere I thought really needed improvement. What actually happened, though, was that I instead became a better person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

