Exhausted

June 2, 2011

Today was a great day, as it seems every day around here is!  I, of course, worked with the kids again this morning, and it was exhausting.  Because they have all warmed up to us already, they were crazy!  The four girls working at this school are me, Taylor, Alex, and Katie.  We were all dead by the end.  How the teachers work here without volunteers is beyond me.

At the beginning of the day, Taylor decided to play hair salon with the girls.  She quit when Bruce joined in and ripped out of handful of her hair.  Katie got into a wrestling match with the boys and ended up on the ground and a fresh hole in her shirt.  Alex and I ran around the whole time acting as the “tickle monsters.”  Also, all the kids wanted to use me to play the jumping game.  I would hold their hands and lift up as they would jump so that they could jump higher.  They all seemed to really enjoy this game!

I’m excited that I’m already starting to build relationships with some of these kids.  I spent most of the day playing with Sethu, particularly.  I built interesting LEGO structures with her, and she showed me her moves.

   

The other relationship I’m happy to establish is with Trust.  Man, that kid has a stare that feels like he’s looking into your soul.  It’s pretty intimidating!

This afternoon I went to the animal shelter and loved the cats again.  Not much to say about that.  M favorite cat is named George, though!  I also took a lot of pictures of the beautiful kitties!

    

I was pretty disappointed, however, to see the people who were coming to adopt them.  Many of the people who came by only went to see the kittens in their house.  Some didn’t even set foot in the adult cat kennels.  But just look at those first two kitties!  Who wouldn’t want them?  They were so adorable and affectionate!  I look forward to adopting my own lovely adult kitty.

After we got done with our projects, we were going to hike up Chapman’s Peak, a fairly short hike, to watch the sunset.  Apparently it’s a gorgeous view from the top, and it’s well known that African sunsets are beautiful.  Unfortunately there was a rock slide, so the road and the trail were both closed.  Instead, we decided to watch the sunset from the beach.  The water was freezing and the tide was coming up (we almost got stranded on the rocks we sat on).  It was my first sunset on the beach AND my first nice African sunset.  The only thing that would have made it better was a romantic interest.  :3

    

This is also where I got the picture in my header!

About jessinsafrica

Hi, my name is Jessica MacKinnon. I am driven to work to make the world a slightly better place. I was really excited to take that motivation to somewhere I thought really needed improvement. What actually happened, though, was that I instead became a better person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

