Table Mountain

June 3, 2011

Nothing really exceptional happened at the school today.  I’m continuing to build relationships with the kids, though.  I am going to be so sad to leave next week!  I’m getting so attached to them already.  They’re all so beautiful and amazing, I don’t want to say goodbye.

We actually ran a lesson today.  We worked with them on writing their names.  We got nice dotted paper and wrote their name on the first line.  The second line had their names dotted.  Then they had room to practice writing their names on their own.  They had a lot of trouble understanding the assignment.  We had to help them each one by one.  A lot of them were trying to redraw the letters dotted, then trace them again.  Some just completely didn’t understand.  A few of them, though, had the assignment down and did really well.  Roxy was at my table.  She did really well writing the Rox, but had a lot of trouble with the y.  So I helped her with that, and she started beautifully writing her name!

We also has a dance party.  As soon as Justin Bieber came on, those kids were all over the dance floor.  Those little girls got down and dirty when they danced, too.  I think the highlight of the dance party, though, was when Beat It by Michael Jackson came on.  All the kids put one hand on their heads, one on their crotches, then danced like the king of pop.

Since today is Friday, there are no volunteer activities.  Instead, we were driven to Table Mountain and we hiked up to the top.  Talk about an exhausting hike!  I had completely finished my water by the time we were half way up.  The trail was basically a switchback made of stairs.  And not man-made stairs, they were rocks.  Two hours… climbing stairs.  The view was beautiful, but the exhaustion was not!

Making it to the top, however, was amazing!  There was the sense of accomplishment at actually hiking up a mountain, then there was the view.  The top of the mountain was actually above the cloud layer, so looking out, there was an endless expanse of them.  We stayed up there to watch the sun set through the clouds, which is, by far, the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen.  I imagine, if heaven exists, this is what it would look like.

After we all got down and settled, we took the cable car back down to the road, then caught a taxi for the drive home.

About jessinsafrica

Hi, my name is Jessica MacKinnon. I am driven to work to make the world a slightly better place. I was really excited to take that motivation to somewhere I thought really needed improvement. What actually happened, though, was that I instead became a better person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

