Culture Shock

June 6, 2011

Today I am feeling the full effects of my illness.  I’m exhausted and upset that I haven’t been able to do my best today.  I couldn’t run around with the kids or really play with them at all.  The teacher was sick, so we got to teach them the entire lesson today.  We also let a few of them split up and we read to them.

I’m also going through a bit of culture shock today, finally.  It started with the horror stories and the sudden disenchantment with the area.  Today it was furthered by the extreme unfamiliarity with things.  I went to the store to invest in some cold medicine, preferably Nyquil.  When I got there I found the medicine aisle and recognized literally nothing.  No advil, no benadryl, nothing.  I finally found the Vicks brand (the people who make Nyquil), but they only had some very very strange medicine.  I ended up buying some odd “Honey and Ginger” cough syrup made by them.  It was the worst taste ever, but it did work a little bit thankfully.

Hopefully I’ll get better soon so I can stop feeling sorry for myself!

About jessinsafrica

Hi, my name is Jessica MacKinnon. I am driven to work to make the world a slightly better place. I was really excited to take that motivation to somewhere I thought really needed improvement. What actually happened, though, was that I instead became a better person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

