I Missed Out

June 7, 2011

Today I’m a little upset.  I was horribly sick when I woke up!  I had a massive headache, clogged nose, and cough.  All I wanted was more sleep.  So, I skipped the morning work.  When I woke up again at 10:30, I felt so much better!  My nose was all cleared up, headache was gone, and I was only dealing with a cough.  That was great, but I was really disappointed that I had to miss the day with the kids.

Plus, I missed SO MUCH!  Last night I stayed up and helped with the craft that we were planning for today.  It was great, we made little toilet paper rolls covered with colored paper.  We sorted letter stickers into their names and were going to distribute decorative stickers.  The other girls followed through with this, but I’m extremely sad that I wasn’t able to be directly involved.

Since I was feeling better, I did go to my afternoon assignment.  I went to TEARS, the animal shelter.  Katie didn’t go with me today, so I went with two girls from the UK, who weren’t a part of ISV.  They were both very nice.

While I was at TEARS, though, we saw an extremely sad sight.  They have a kitten named Scooter, named such because his back legs are paralyzed.  This happened because someone decided to test the theory that cats always land on their feet and threw him into the air.  The legend is obviously not true.  It just makes me angry that people are so willing to do horrible things to such innocent creatures…

About jessinsafrica

Hi, my name is Jessica MacKinnon. I am driven to work to make the world a slightly better place. I was really excited to take that motivation to somewhere I thought really needed improvement. What actually happened, though, was that I instead became a better person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

