Fun on the Beach

June 14, 2011

Beach!
Coming from landlocked New Mexico, the beach is always something I look forward to!  I think I’ve been to a beach maybe five times in my life, and only in the water for a few of those.  It’s been years since I’ve last seen one.  Today I spent the morning testing my balance in the waves.  Tofo is known for its consistent surf and warm water, so it was generally awesome.  I’m pretty sure I won!

Next on our adventure we went on a sea safari.  The absolute best part was getting the boat into the water.  It was a small motorboat, and we had to push it through the waves to get it out to sea.  When our guide told us, we all piled into the boat and jetted through the surf. It was cold!

Now, the snorkeling part… definitely not a fan.  The waves were pretty rough because there was a storm brewing out at sea, so I had a lot of trouble staying afloat.  I had never swam with flippers, either, so I had trouble with that, too.  Inhale water through mouth.  Can’t breathe through nose.  Initiate panic mode.  It was kind of like that feeling when you think you’re going to fall backward in your chair, only worse.

I had been wanting to go scuba diving tomorrow because that’s something I’ve really wanted to try.  Unfortunately, this snorkeling experience made me decide that I really don’t want to try scuba diving right now.  Plus, I still have a cough left over from the cold I had, which may cause a problem.

This afternoon when we got back I went out boogie boarding for the first time ever as a warm-up to my surfing lesson tomorrow.  It took a while, but I totally got the hang of catching waves.  I also tried to skim board but only managed to wipe out and graze my leg over the sand.  Oops!

About jessinsafrica

Hi, my name is Jessica MacKinnon. I am driven to work to make the world a slightly better place. I was really excited to take that motivation to somewhere I thought really needed improvement. What actually happened, though, was that I instead became a better person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

